David Rubin Elected President of The Academy®

Congratulations to David Rubin, who  was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night (August 6) by the organization’s Board of Governors.

Also elected to officer positions by the Board:

Lois Burwell, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee)
Sid Ganis, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee)
Larry Karaszewski, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee)
Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)
Mark Johnson, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee)
Bonnie Arnold, Secretary (chair, Membership and Governance Committee)

Mr. Rubin is beginning his first term as president and his seventh year as a governor representing the Casting Directors Branch. Mr. Burwell, Mr. Ganis, Mr. Karaszewski and Ms. Utley were re-elected to their posts. This will be the first officer stint for Ms. Arnold and Mr. Johnson.

Mr. Rubin is the first casting director to hold the position of Academy President.  With more than 100 film and television credits, he has cast such features as “The English Patient,” “Men in Black,” “Hairspray,” “Lars and the Real Girl,” “The Talented Mr. Ripley,” “Four Weddings and a Funeral,” “Get Shorty,” “My Best Friend’s Wedding,” “William Shakespeare’s Romeo + Juliet” and “Fried Green Tomatoes” among more.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is a global community of more than 9,000 of the most accomplished artists, filmmakers and executives working in film. In addition to celebrating and recognizing excellence in filmmaking through the Oscars, the Academy supports a wide range of initiatives to promote the art and science of the movies, including public programming, educational outreach and the upcoming Academy Museum of Motion Pictures, which is now under construction in Los Angeles.

The Academy Museum, Wilshire & Fairfax, used with kind courtesy of The Academy, (c) 2019, AMPAS, all rights reserved.

Kerry Brougher will be leaving his position as Director of the Academy Museum to return to his roots in the art world.  Kerry is a friend and a highly respected colleague. He has been at the helm of this project for the last five years, and has put in place strong teams that well position us to move ahead together. In recognition of his leadership, vision, and committed service, the Museum Board has named him Founding Director.

The Museum Board will work closely with the Museum’s senior team to ensure a smooth transition as the search for a new director gets under way. Our primary goal remains to create the best possible motion picture museum for you.

A Note from Kerry:

“It has been a privilege for me to work with the Museum’s Board of Trustees, the great Renzo Piano, my colleagues, and of course you – our good friends and supporters, with whom we are creating this unprecedented Museum. We are just weeks away from completing construction of the buildings, ending the first phase of this project, and our collection has grown substantially. Many of the exhibitions, including Miyazaki and Regeneration, will be the first of their kind. I’m very proud of the work done by our amazing team. Now is the right time for me to pass the baton.”

We will be keeping you informed of the Museum’s ongoing momentum.

All the best,

Katharine DeShaw
Deputy Director, Advancement and External Relations

©2019, The Academy Museum, used with kind courtesy for The Hollywood Sentinel. This content and image of Mr. Rubin is also © Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. ® “Oscar®,” “Oscars®,” “Academy Awards®,” “Academy Award®,” “A.M.P.A.S. ®” and “Oscar Night®” are the trademarks, and the ©Oscar® statuette is the registered design mark and copyrighted property, of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.